Spieth, Day top Olympic rankings as Rio approaches


The calendar officially reads 2016, which means a new Olympic year has begun.

Not just any Olympic year, of course, but one that will usher in the return of golf to the Olympics for the first time since 1904. The fields of 60 men and 60 women will be finalized after the Open Championship in July, but for now the men’s standings are topped by two familiar faces: Jordan Spieth and Jason Day, who accounted for three of four major wins last year.

A country can have up to four representatives in Rio if all are ranked inside the top 15 in the standings; countries are otherwise capped at two players apiece.

The top players in the Official World Golf Ranking not currently projected to make the field in Rio include Jim Furyk (No. 9), Patrick Reed (No. 10), Zach Johnson (No. 13), Paul Casey (No. 22), Marc Leishman (No. 26), Russell Knox (No. 30) and Charl Schwartzel (No. 35).

Here is a look at the current top 60 heading into the first event of the year:

1. Jordan Spieth (USA)

2. Jason Day (AUS)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

6. Rickie Fowler (USA)

7. Justin Rose (GBR)

8. Dustin Johnson (USA)

9. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

10. Adam Scott (AUS)

11. Branden Grace (RSA)

12. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

13. Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

14. Danny Willett (GBR)

15. Shane Lowry (IRL)

16. Martin Kaymer (GER)

17. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

18. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

19. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

20. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

21. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

22. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

23. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

24. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

25. Danny Lee (NZL)

26. David Lingmerth (SWE)

27. Shingo Katayama (JPN)

28. K.T. Kim (KOR)

29. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

30. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

31. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

32. Joost Luiten (NED)

33. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

34. Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP)

35. Alexander Levy (FRA)

36. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

37. David Hearn (CAN)

38. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

39. Ryan Fox (NZL)

40. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

41. Alex Cejka (GER)

42. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

43. Wu Ashun (CHN)

44. Hao Tong Li (CHN)

45. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

46. Camilo Villegas (COL)

47. SSP Chawrasia (IND)

48. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

49. Angelo Que (PHI)

50. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

51. Roope Kakko (FIN)

52. Vijay Singh (FIJ)

53. Danny Chia (MAS)

54. Carlos Ortiz (MEX)

55. Cheng-Tsung Pan (TPE)

56. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

57. Wen-Tang Lin (TPE)

58. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)

59. Felipe Aguilar (CHI)

60. Adilson da Silva (BRA)

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply